Dr. Von Hoff

I can’t, for the life of me, always remember things lately.  Apparently, this is what they call chemo brain.  For instance, right now I feel as if I have blogged about chemo brain before, but I’m uncertain if this is true or not.  Maybe I just posted about it once on Facebook.  In either case, chemo brain is real; science says so.  A recent study of women undergoing breast cancer treatment found that a majority of them suffer from, what we in the oncology world call, “chemo brain.”  Real technical, aren’t we?  Chemo brain happens during chemotherapy (obviously) and causes patients to have a foggy memory.  I’ve found it slows down my ability to find the word I want, has affected my memory and often time many other skills I took for granted.  It isn’t as if they skills or memories are gone, but my recall is much slower.  It’s not a pleasant feeling and I am very thankful that it is, according to survivors, short-lived.

While this isn’t really the point of the blog today, I did want to express that the reason I simply seem to refer to some doctors by initials or not at all is that I cannot remember how to spell their names or just cannot remember them.  For instance, Dr. Brooks has, for several weeks, told me the names of the two oncologists he would like me to potentially see for the research treatments.  One is Dr. M, lovingly referred to by Malika as Dr. Manhamana.  No, not really his or her name, but what it sounds like when Dr. Brook rattles it off.  Dr. M works at the University of Arizona (or is it University Medical?) and is doing some sort of trial there.  I haven’t heard much about his or her trial; in fact, Dr. Brooks didn’t even mention him/her at my appointment yesterday.  I don’t know if I no longer qualify for whatever s/he is studying or not, but I take it from his question of whether or not I could make it to Phoenix once a week that he is leaning towards sending me to doctor number two.

It is this very doctor that I am writing about today.  His name is Dr. Daniel Von Hoff who works through TGEN in Scottsdale.  He has a clinic he runs on Mondays and sounds like an absolute God send when it comes to cancer research and treatments.  His primary area of study is pancreatic cancer and his goal is to either cure it by time he retires or put medical research ahead enough by then that it will be cured.  He believes that cancer will be a disease of the past in the next twenty-five to thirty years (wouldn’t that be nice?)  Where did I find all this information?  Google.  The article I read on this man made me cry!  If I had to see anyone other than Dr. Brooks, this sounds like the man!

If you are interested in reading about Dr. Von Hoff, you are welcome to read the same article I read here: http://www.azcentral.com/arizonarepublic/news/articles/2010/08/08/20100808valley-cancer-doctor.html 

Since I cannot spell Dr. M’s name, I haven’t found anything about him/her.  I’m looking forward to the new treatment bringing me to remission and I honestly believe that if Dr. Brooks can’t help me, Dr. Von Hoff can!  Something good is going to come of this, I just know it.

Also, I’d like to thank everyone for the kind words of support I received since my last blog.  I was nervous admitting to how I felt, not wanting to cause any waves in the pool.  Still, I promised to be as honest as I could (when will I finally get to that pro/con blog?!) and that includes making waves sometimes.  I found a ton of support among friends and family alike, which I appreciate.  This isn’t easy for me and it helps to know that I’m never alone.

5 thoughts on “Dr. Von Hoff

  1. Malika says:

    I’m really hopeful about this next treatment. If it’s in Phoenix and fits in my schedule, I most definitely want to continue being your doc/chemo buddy. ROAD TRIP! …and pottery painting, of course 🙂

  2. Malika says:

    And, yeah, Dr. “Manamana”…have no clue how to spell their name, though I recall, phonetically, it sounds like Mah-hot-mon-ah(n)

  3. Deb says:

    Dr. Von Hoff is brilliant and kind and has healing energy. Good plan. He, Dr Brooks and God will make a good team. My spirits just lifted. Love you Deb

    • Paula C says:

      Janine, thank you for continuing to share your honest reactions with those of us who love you and continually think and pray for you. I hope God sends the right doctor your way and that remission is right around the corner for you my friend. Although, I know I have never walked in your shoes (and I pray I never have to, no one should ever have to hear that diagnosis made about them, and my heart goes out to you and all those battling this disease, those who are celebrating remission and those whose battle finally ended and are at peace), I am glad that you allow me and others to help hold you up and lift you up in prayer as you continue your battle against this horrid disease known as cancer. I sincerely believe you will beat this Janine, stay strong and remember if you ever are feeling weak you have many people in your life that would be glad to help in any way they can. Blessings to you always.

  4. jdp64 says:

    God is good. I believe He has sent you to this doctor in Phoenix. I know you will be healed, I have said it all along. I also know that you are going thru a terrible time, and am only too happy to be there for you. It’s only a matter of time until you are in remission and blessed with a child. I can feel it in my little ol’ bones….or is that my arthritis kickin’ up???? LOL

    Love you lots,
    Mom and Dad

Support is always welcome.

