Quick Update

After a rough night of coughing, Dr. Brooks ordered a CT scan of my chest to confirm the cause of the infiltrates: pneumonia or some inflammation. Either way, he seemed to believe we were treating it appropriately.

Unfortunately, we weren’t.  The edema in my legs has been messing with my blood supply. The cramping, coughing and sometimes short of breath feeling has been cause by small blood clots (pulmonary embolists or PEs).  This means I will need to be started on blood thinners, which is one more drug to manage with chemo to survive.

As I literally just received this news, I can say I am numb and have no idea how this will all play out.  I just didn’t know what questions to ask so I asked about cost and length of treatment (indefinitely).  In the morning, after more process time, I will hopefully have more answers…

Please, keep praying.

4 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. Gail Collins says:

    You are constantly on my mind. Love you. Hang in there.

  2. Tawnya says:

    I love you Janine!! Glad they found the PE…..geesh girl. <3

  3. exiledtyke says:

    You have come so far on strength of character and determination and those qualities will let you find a way to overcome this latest blow. Thoughts are with you.

  4. charlotte says:

    Oh my sweet angel, i will NEVER stop!

Support is always welcome.

